Slip and Fall Lawyer in San Diego County, Riverside County and Orange County
When you visit a business or someone else’s house, you don’t expect to have to watch out for your safety. You expect the property owner to clean up spills and take care of any necessary repairs, and if they don’t have time to get around to it, you expect them to warn you of any dangers on the premises.
Under California’s “premises liability,” laws you are entitled to these expectations. You are entitled to walk around not wondering if your next step might be your last. When a property owner or tenant falls short, you are entitled to financial compensation for your injury-related losses.
If you have been injured on someone else’s property, I can help. I am Attorney David Rubin, and I have helped numerous clients recover just compensation for injuries resulting from slips, trips, and falls. In these types of cases, acting quickly is often a key to negotiating a settlement or winning a verdict at trial, so call me at (619) 719-1087 now for a free, no-obligation consultation.
When Can You Sue Someone for a Slip, Trip or Fall?
Like most other types of personal injury claims, California premises liability claims are governed by the law of “negligence.” In its simplest terms, this requires proof of carelessness. Property owners and tenants have a legal duty to use reasonable care to maintain their premises in a safe condition or provide appropriate warning of any dangers. Inadequate maintenance and failure to warn (like failing to place cones around a spill on the floor) show carelessness. When you are injured due to someone else’s careless behavior, you deserve to be fully compensated for any and all losses you suffer.
Whether it is in a private home, a government building, a local business or even walking down the sidewalk or through a parking lot – if you slip, trip or fall as a result of poor maintenance you may have a case worth pursuing.
How Long Do You Have to File a Slip or Fall Claim in California?
In most cases slip and fall claims are subject to a two-year statute of limitations. This means that you have two years from the date of the accident to file a formal lawsuit. If you wait even a day longer, and even if you are in negotiations with the property owner’s insurance company, you could lose your legal rights entirely.
If the location where you were injured is owned by a government entity, like at a school, in a city building or even on a city sidewalk you have only 6 months to make a claim. With few exceptions if you miss that 6 month window, you cannot pursue your claim.
Waiting any longer than necessary is a mistake. Collecting evidence, obtaining an accurate medical diagnosis that proves the cause of your injury, and providing proper notice in a government claim are all steps that need to be taken as soon as possible.
Are You Entitled to Financial Compensation?
If you slipped or fell on someone else’s property you should speak to a lawyer to protect your rights. The insurance companies will not treat you fairly and may not even take you seriously if you don’t have legal representation. I can evaluate your case and see what compensation you are owed and I can make sure the insurance companies don’t take advantage of you.
Let’s talk about your case. I offer free consultations and will not charge you anything unless I win a settlement or verdict. You can reach me any time, so call me at (619) 719-1087 or contact me online now.